Customers

Nutanix助力上海市精神卫生中心建设新型智慧医院  

    
上海市精神卫生中心通过超融合解决方案,实现虚拟化整合和云化改造,升级IT基础架构,使之能够随着业务的变化灵活扩展,加速了新型智慧医院建设。

行业

医疗业

客户收益

  • 超融合基础架构降低了医院IT基础架构的复杂性,同时降低了运维和管理的成本
  • 整合医院数据中心零散的设备资源,化繁为简,实现统一管理
  • 实现业务的快速部署,缩短医院业务系统上线周期,兼具灵活性与可扩展性,提高了运维和管理效率

解决方案

  • Nutanix超融合基础架构
  • Nutanix Prism Pro
  • Nutanix Files

企业级应用

  • EMR电子病历系统
  • 医疗科研系统

信息化和数字化建设对于我院医疗业务的发展起到了非常大的促进作用。Nutanix的优势和前瞻性更多体现在软件层面,不仅拥有丰富而独特的功能,还可与业界主流的硬件相结合,实现高效、快捷的整体化部署。另外,Nutanix超融合解决方案完全能够满足我们现有的业务需求,支持了上海市精神卫生中心的信息化建设。未来,建设新型的智慧医院是我们努力的方向。

——上海市精神卫生中心信息统计部主任 邱宏

案例概述

上海市精神卫生中心信息系统的建设和发展是分阶段进行的。最初,信息系统建设主要是围绕财务收费展开;在此基础之上,逐渐转向以医疗诊疗记录为核心,即以电子病例为核心实现诊疗信息化;当前,则以数字平台建设为核心,满足医生查房、移动护理等移动应用业务场景,以及数据平台和科研场景的应用需求。

目前,除因需求特殊而单独存在的HIS和PACS两大业务系统以外,上海市精神卫生中心的几乎所有业务系统都运行在Nutanix超融合基础架构之上。上海市精神卫生中心基于超融合基础架构搭建了一套私有云系统。

从上海市精神卫生中心的实践来看,它将核心业务与科研项目的处理都放在统一的超融合基础架构之上,充分利用了超融合在计算、存储和网络资源上的高度整合、统一与易管理性,满足了数据和应用快速增长的需求,只需增加节点即可实现性能、容量的同步扩容,而不像采用传统三层架构时,还要分别规划服务器、存储和网络,效率和管理的便捷性大大提升,而且性价比非常高。

挑战

始建于1935年的上海市精神卫生中心是上海市三级甲等精神卫生专科医院,担负着全市精神卫生的医疗、教学、科研、预防、康复、心理咨询/治疗和对外学术交流等任务,也是全国规模最大、业务种类最全、领衔学科最多的精神卫生机构,目前拥有1800多张床位。

2018年4月25日,国务院办公厅发布了《关于促进“互联网+医疗健康”发展的意见》,提出鼓励医疗机构应用互联网等信息技术拓展医疗服务的空间和内容,允许依托医疗机构发展互联网医院,并对发展远程医疗提出了明确的要求。

上海市精神卫生中心信息统计部主任邱宏表示:“我院IT基础架构的变革和演进始终以业务为导向。”然而,随着业务的快速发展,以及承担的科研任务的担子越来越重,上海市精神卫生中心原有的三层架构的短板逐渐显现:整体架构比较复杂,运维成本居高不下;存储系统的扩展性差,且利用率较低;系统扩展周期长,升级维护复杂,时间窗口长,不能满足业务快速发展的要求;服务器、存储、虚拟化等不同的管理平台界面难以有效管理。

上海市精神卫生中心收治的病人中有很多需要长期住院治疗,其医疗档案的长期、安全、高效保存就成了一个关键问题。另外,上海市精神卫生中心还承担了很多重要课题的研究,涉及到大量文档和影像的处理和保留。因此,存储系统的高效、稳定就成了上海市精神卫生中心的一大核心诉求。

但在基础架构升级之前,上海市精神卫生中心各科室内的计算资源是独立运行的,不能形成统一的计算资源池;所有文件分散存放在各科室,文件资源共享困难;各自为政的数据存储单元缺乏统一管理,整个科室的数据安全保障成为瓶颈;运维人员维护工作繁重,难以对数据和文档进行有效统计和集中管理维护。综上所述,实现数据的高效存储与自由访问,一方面要从整体架构上打破信息孤岛的藩篱;另一方面,要实现存储系统本身的整合与优化,加速数据流动与共享。两者要相辅相成。

解决方案

上海市精神卫生中心十分认同,数字化转型是必由之路。但是,他们也担心在数字化转型的过程中,随着技术日新月异,IT基础架构演进的速度太快,有效利用这些新技术,同时减轻管理和运维上的负担对信息科的工程师来说可能是一项挑战。超融合具备的计算、存储与网络的一体化设计,以及部署、应用和扩展上的便捷性,打消了上海市精神卫生中心的顾虑,让它在超融合的道路上越走越深入,越走越通畅。

在众多的国内外超融合品牌中,上海市精神卫生中心为什么偏偏选中了Nutanix?邱宏归纳了以下几条原因:超融合在国内大规模商业化落地的时间还不算太长,选择一个先进而成熟的解决方案是十分重要的;从实际业务的角度考虑,采用超融合,必须保证整个系统运行的稳定、可靠和安全,所以必须选择一个主流的大品牌。经过认真仔细的评估,上海市精神卫生中心最终选择了市场占有率较高的大品牌Nutanix。

“当初在方案选型时,我们翻阅了大量有关IT基础架构和超融合的资料。Nutanix超融合给人印象最深的就是其技术架构的先进性,及其简单的扩容方式,这些都非常契合我们的业务需要。”邱宏表示,“当前,只要是可以虚拟化的应用场景都比较适合采用超融合基础架构。”

2018年开始,上海市精神卫生中心采用了第一套4个节点的Nutanix超融合解决方案,此后又相继上线两个重要的科研项目,都顺理成章地采用了Nutanix超融合解决方案,两套系统均为3个节点。

目前,除因特殊需求而单独存在的HIS和PACS两大业务系统以外,上海市精神卫生中心已将几乎所有业务系统都运行在Nutanix超融合基础架构之上,成功搭建了一套私有云系统。

客户收益

支持各种虚拟化场景,轻松实现扩容

大量需要用到虚拟化的场景应用,上海市精神卫生中心都将其搬迁到了Nutanix超融合基础架构之上。这是一项庞大的工程,上海市精神卫生中心采用了循序渐进、分布实施的策略。

“由于很多业务场景本身的需求不太明确,比如有些业务处于持续变动之中,还有一些业务需要快速迭代,满足这些不断变化的需求,我们认为只有超融合架构能够胜任。”邱宏介绍说,“超融合基础架构可以在性能和存储容量上随业务的发展持续扩展,只要增加相应的节点即可。另外,超融合在管理上也更加便利。Nutanix超融合解决方案提供了类似‘傻瓜式’的操作模式,管理方式也更加人性化,使得扩展节点轻而易举。”

升级IT基础架构,效率大大提升

超融合基础架构大大降低了医院IT基础架构的复杂性,同时也降低了运维和管理成本;超融合有效整合了医院数据中心内部零散的设备资源,化繁为简,实现了统一管理;基于超融合基础架构,医院的业务应用可以快速部署,缩短了业务系统上线周期,灵活性与可扩展性兼具,提高了整体运维和管理效率。采用Nutanix超融合之后,上海市精神卫生中心整个IT基础架构的管理和维护成本降低15%~20%,存储扩容时间也比传统架构快了30%~35%。

超融合的部署快、扩容方便、运维简单,这对于医疗业务来说是必要且重要的特性,大大降低了运维工程师的压力。邱宏建议,如果是第一次使用超融合的用户,最好选择主流品牌的产品,供应商的技术人员通常拥有丰富的经验,可以在实施的过程中提供全面、专业的支持,从而让整个系统的部署、上线事半功倍。

简单、灵活、智能管理科研数据

上海市精神卫生中心的脑电影像研究室采用Nutanix Files分布式存储解决方案来存储和集中管理该科室的业务数据,数据量超过250TB。Nutanix Files具有软件定义的高可用性、大规模扩展、简易管理、自动优化和自我修复等功能,且所有功能开箱即用,数分钟内即可完成部署,在不中断业务的情况下实现一键更新,用户可以从整合式操作面板管理所有数据。Nutanix Files简单、灵活、智能的特性正是上海市精神卫生中心脑电影像研究室所需要的。

未来计划

“Nutanix超融合解决方案完全能够满足我们现有的业务需求。”邱宏表示:“未来随着业务的增长,包括承接的科研项目越来越多,我们都会在现有的超融合基础架构之上进行扩容。比如,在多个院区之间实施容灾,以及对业务数据进行深入挖掘和智能化分析,这都是我们接下来要考虑的问题。超融合架构为我们奠定了坚实的基础。”

上海市精神卫生中心目前正在积极进行互联网医院方面的探索。由于互联网医院还是个新生事物,上海市精神卫生中心目前只开通了线上复诊、配药和线上咨询等少数几项业务。邱宏表示,未来,当互联网医院发展到一定规模时,上海市精神卫生中心考虑到线上与线下业务更紧密的结合,将实现更有效的线上与线下架构整合,那时超融合基础架构将仍是整个架构的重要着力点。

Customers

Nutanix helps leading medical center in China deliver smarter healthcare

By adopting Nutanix, Shanghai Mental Health Center integrates virtualized workloads in a private cloud and accelerates the development of digital healthcare services  

INDUSTRY

Healthcare

BENEFITS

  • Supports a variety of virtualization scenarios
  • Reduces IT management and maintenance costs by 15-20%
  • Makes storage expansion 30-35% faster
  • Simplifies management of 250 terabytes of file storage
  • Enables digital healthcare development

SOLUTION

  • Nutanix Enterprise Cloud OS
  • Nutanix Prism Pro
  • Nutanix Files

Applications

  • Electronic medical records
  • Medical research system

BUSINESS BENEFIT

The Shanghai Mental Health Center’s IT has evolved in stages. At first, information systems supported financial management but gradually they began to support medical diagnosis and treatments. Today, the core IT platform supports all the center’s operations, including research, and will support the evolution of online as well as app-based healthcare solutions.

Currently, Shanghai Mental Health Center is running virtually all its critical workloads on a Nutanix hyperconverged infrastructure (HCI)-based private cloud. Core operational systems and scientific research projects sit on the HCI, which provides easy management of compute, storage, and networking resources. To meet the rapid growth of data and applications, the center simply attaches additional nodes to the HCI for synchronous expansion of performance and capacity. Plus, the IT team no longer has to plan servers, storage, and networking separately, improving efficiency, management, and cost effectiveness.

Technology has played a key role in the development of the Shanghai Mental Health Center. With Nutanix, we gain the advantages of software-defined IT through a solution that works with leading hardware platforms. The Nutanix HCI will meet Shanghai Mental Health Center’s existing and future needs, helping to build a smarter medical facility.

—Qiu Hong, Director of Information and Statistics Department, Shanghai Mental Health Center

CHALLENGE

Founded in 1935, Shanghai Mental Health Center is a leading mental health hospital in China. It delivers consultations and treatments while supporting education, scientific research, and academic exchanges with centers abroad. It is also the largest mental health institution in China, with more than 1,800 beds.

In 2018, the General Office of the State Council issued Opinions on Promoting the Development of Internet plus Medical Health, encouraging medical centers to expand services using IT. As such, it provided the Shanghai Mental Health Center and others with guidelines on the development of digital healthcare services.

Qiu Hong, director of the information and statistics department at Shanghai Mental Health Center, says, “With rapid development and the burden of scientific workloads increasing, the shortcomings of our three-tier infrastructure began to appear. It was complex, and operation and maintenance costs were high. The storage system offered poor scalability and utilization was low. The system was also complex to upgrade. It couldn’t meet our long-time development needs. And different management interfaces for servers, storage, and virtualization impacted our effectiveness.”

Many patients in Shanghai Mental Health Center need long-term care, so the preservation of medical records became a key issue. In addition, the center was undertaking many important research projects, involving the processing and retention of a large number of documents and images. Thus, efficient and stable storage became a priority.

As things stood, computing resources in each center department ran independently. Files were scattered across departments, making it difficult to share resources. With no unified data storage management, data security had also become a key issue. Furthermore, it was difficult to manage and maintain data and documents. In sum, the center wanted to break down the barriers of siloed data, integrating and optimizing the storage system and accelerating the flow and distribution of data.

SOLUTION

Shanghai Mental Health Center looked to digitally transform its operations. However, it was concerned that the rapid evolution of the center’s IT infrastructure would be too much for the IT team, who would be unable to fully utilize the new technologies. To dispel concerns, the center looked for a hyperconverged infrastructure (HCI), integrating computing, storage, and networking.

After careful evaluation, Shanghai Mental Health Center finally chose Nutanix, a major IT solution provider. Qiu says, “HCI is relatively new in China, so it was very important to choose an advanced and mature solution. This level of IT integration must be stable, reliable, and secure.”

Qiu adds that the center did a lot of research about HCI at the beginning of the project. “The most impressive aspect of a Nutanix HCI infrastructure was its advanced technology and simplicity to expand, which met our business needs,” he says. “Indeed, HCI is a suitable option for any virtualized workloads.”

In 2018, Shanghai Mental Health Center deployed a cluster of four Nutanix nodes. Since then, six nodes have been added for two important scientific research projects. Apart from the center’s picture archive and communication system (PACS) and hospital information system (HIS), all Shanghai Mental Health Center critical systems run on its Nutanix HCI in a private cloud.

CUSTOMER OUTCOME

Supports a variety of virtualization scenarios

It is a huge project and the center continues to migrate its applications to Nutanix. Qiu says, “Many of our users are continuously changing their requirements and we need to add capacity. Only our HCI can meet the requirements. By adding nodes, we can continue expanding and adding performance and storage capacity. In addition, the HCI is easier to manage, simplifying operations and management, making growth easier.”

Reduces costs by 15-20%, makes storage expansion 30-35% faster

Using Nutanix Prism Pro, the center has greatly reduced IT complexity, while also cutting back on operation, maintenance, and management costs. By integrating IT resources across the data center, the organization has lowered complexity and unified management. Thanks to the HCI, applications are rapidly deployed, while the flexibility and scalability of the overall platform are enhanced. After deploying the Nutanix HCI, the Shanghai Mental Health Center reduced management and maintenance costs by 15-20 percent, while making storage expansion 30-35 percent faster.

The Nutanix solution has also greatly reduced the pressure on the IT team. Qiu adds, “We had a good deployment experience with Nutanix because it offered us comprehensive and professional support and helped optimize the infrastructure.”

Simplifies management for 250 terabytes of file data

The neuroimaging lab at Shanghai Mental Health Center uses Nutanix Files to store and centrally manage the department’s 250-plus terabytes of file data. Software-defined Nutanix Files ensures high availability, large-scale expansion, simple management, automatic optimization, and self-repair. All features come out-of-the-box and can be deployed in minutes and managed through an integrated management pane. Nutanix Files is simple, flexible, and intelligent—exactly what the neuroimaging lab needed.

NEXT STEPS

“The Nutanix HCI is fully capable of meeting our needs,” says Qiu. “In the future, as the number of scientific research projects increases, we will expand our existing capacity. For example, we are planning the implementation of disaster recovery across our hospital, as well as in-depth mining and intelligent analysis of our data. The HCI architecture has laid a solid foundation for us.”

Shanghai Mental Health Center is actively exploring online healthcare. Because virtual medical services are relatively new, Shanghai Mental Health Center has launched only a few online services for follow-up consultations and medical prescriptions. Qiu says, “In the future, when the digital healthcare gains scale, the Shanghai Mental Health Center will integrate online and offline workloads more seamlessly, but the HCI will still be the cornerstone of our architecture.”