Nutanix Certified Professional - Multicloud Infrastructure (NCP-MCI)

v5.20 available through 31 March 2023

Take the Exam

NCP-MCI badge

The Nutanix Certified Professional - Multicloud Infrastructure certification (NCP-MCI) exam tests your skills and abilities in deploying, administering and troubleshooting Nutanix AOS 5.20 in the Enterprise Cloud and was ranked the #8 top paying IT certification

Successful candidates are able to deploy and administer Nutanix AOS 5.20 nodes, blocks and clusters and can use Prism Element to monitor, manage, troubleshoot and administer AHV hosts and virtual machines.

Knowledge Objectives

Section 1 – Understand Nutanix Enterprise Cloud Concepts

  • Describe and differentiate features present in Acropolis, Prism (Element and Central), and AHV

Section 2 – Manage a Nutanix Cluster

  • Manage node operations in a Nutanix cluster
  • Given a scenario, deploy ROBO sites

Section 3 – Secure a Nutanix Cluster

  • Given a scenario, configure RBAC
  • Install SSL certificates
  • Explain authentication and password management
  • Explain Data-at-Rest Encryption (DARE) functionality

Section 4 – Configure and Manage Networking 

  • Given a scenario, configure networking
  • Describe AHV networking components and configuration settings
  • Describe AHV Managed vs Unmanaged networks
  • Describe AHV Bond modes

Section 5 – Create and Manage Virtual Machines (VMs)

  • Identify tools and methods for migrating a VM
  • Create and Deploy VMs
  • Given a scenario, modify a VM configuration
  • Given a scenario, configure Affinity Rules
  • Explain Live Migration

Section 6 – Monitor Cluster Health and Alerts

  • Given a scenario, analyze the performance and health of a Nutanix cluster and VMs
  • Configure Cluster Monitoring

Section 7 – Understand the Nutanix Distributed Storage Fabric 

  • Recognize components of storage constructs and the data path of snapshots, clones, etc.
  • Identify methods for creating a Storage Container and how to configure Deduplication, Compression, and Erasure Coding on Nutanix Containers

Section 8 – Describe Acropolis Storage Services

  • Define and configure Nutanix Volumes
  • Define Nutanix Files use cases

Section 9 – Understand Data Resiliency

  • Given a scenario, configure VM High Availability
  • Given a scenario, differentiate failover processes, including disk failure, CVM failure, and node failure related to Replication Factor
  • Describe Data Path Redundancy

Section 10 – Implement Data Protection

  • Given a scenario, configure Protection Domains
  • Describe Leap Availability Zones

Section 11 – Understand Prism Central

  • Describe and differentiate Prism Element and Prism Central. Identify methods for viewing information about VMs, clusters, hosts, disks, and Storage Containers, as well as creating and monitoring performance graphs, alerts, and statistics

Section 12 – Conduct Lifecycle Operations

  • Given a scenario, recognize processes to start, stop, and expand a cluster. Additionally, demonstrate how to start and shutdown a node within a cluster and how to eject a node from a cluster
  • Perform upgrades on a Nutanix cluster
  • Install, upgrade, and reclaim licenses


Once you earn the NCP-MCI certification you join an exclusive community of Nutanix certified personnel, and earn more tangible benefits as well:

  • Use of the NCP-MCI logo 
  • NCP-MCI Digital Badge from Credly 
  • Access to the Nutanix Certification store 
  • Discounts on Nutanix events 
  • Early access to educational programs

Stay Connected with Nutanix University

Subscribe to our Education Blog to stay informed of the latest news and announcements from Nutanix University!

For more information or questions contact