Customers

Nutanix 超融合提升亨通集团 IT 治理水平 

行业

高科技制造

客户收益

  • 公司部署新IT系统从数周缩短到几天时间,系统上线时间节约 80%  
  • 通过 Prism,实现对异地多业务平台的统一远程管理,全面提升公司 IT 治理水平 
  • 显著提升生产系统的可靠性,在突发的断电情况下,业务系统可以实现快速恢复,保障业务连续性 
  • 在虚拟桌面的规划和部署过程中, 利用 Nutanix 超融合系统的线性增长特性,避免过度配置造成的资源浪费 

解决方案

  • Nutanix NX8035-G6、 NX1065-G6 
  • AOS、AHV、Prism

企业级应用

  • MES 生产执行系统、集团供应链平台、集团财务平台、集团 OA 平 台、集团公司文档管理平台等 
  • VDI 桌面虚拟化架构 

亨通集团是中国民营企业 100 强之一,年销售额超千亿人民币。其主营业务包括光纤光网、电力电网等,目前旗下拥有 70 余家全资及控股公司、3 家上市公司, 在全国 13 省市和 9 个国家地区设立产业基地,业务覆盖 130 多个国家及地区。 是一家从上游生产制造到下游销售服务一体化的完整供应链企业。 

集团现有的信息化系统包括 SAP、CRM、SRM、OA、HR、MES 等系统。所有生产基地均部署 MES 系统用于工厂管理和计划排产,并将生产数据实时汇总至集团 SAP ERP 系统。如何提高分布在全球各地的 IT 支撑系统的可靠性,提高集团对信息系统的管控水平,成为集团信息化的主要挑战。 

借助 Nutanix 超融合解决方案,承载亨通集团与分公司的 MES(生产执行系统)、 VDI(桌面虚拟化架构)等关键系统,同时解决了困扰亨通集团多时的 IT 管理的众多难题。 

破解分公司 IT 力量薄弱难题 

相比集团公司,亨通的分公司 IT 技术力量要薄弱得多,分公司与集团独立核算, 每个 IT 项目都需要单独采购,从立项到招标到实施上线往往要几个月时间。集团信息部总监张征平介绍,2019 年集团信息部在做统一 IT 规划时,重点考虑因素之一就是维持现有采购预算不增加的情况下,实现集团公司对分公司提供 IT 技术能力输出以提升后期管理运维能力。 

通过反复调研对比,并进行现场测试后,张征平总监决定率先在分公司引入 Nutanix 超融合方案。 

2019 年 4 月,亨通集团在北京、成都、西安西古 3 个分公司分别部署了 4 节点 的 Nutanix NX-1065 超融合一体机,用于部署 MES 和 VDI 系统。 

利用 Nutanix 超融合方案,亨通分公司部署新的 IT 系统的时间从传统方式的几周缩短到数天,新系统上线时间缩短了 80% 以上。对技术力量相对薄弱的异地分公司,集团信息部现在可以使用 Nutanix Prism 来集中管理分布在不同位置的多个集群,还可以对运维工作进行简化和自动化实现统一的管控和远程支持。 

Nutanix Prism 是虚拟数据中心端到端管理解决方案,拥有从虚拟机创建、启动、停止、迁移以及系统升级等运维操作的一键式管理能力,还可以提供系统性能监控、事件预警、容量规划等高级功能,能够实现虚拟数据中心的优化和自动运维。 

MES 需要提供实时的数据给到生产产线,因此需要在工厂部署,工厂的机房环境通常比较恶劣,甚至经常会发生意外断电,隐患比较突出。利用 Nutanix 超融合方案,在采购成本基本持平的情况,系统的可靠性和稳定性却得到大大提升。 Nutanix 超融合可以自动实现虚拟机的高可用性,在某个节点出现故障时,可自动在其它正常节点上重启虚拟机,以保障业务的连续稳定性。另外,Nutanix 软件定义存储的特性,支持复制因子设定来配置数据副本数量。数据在虚拟机本地写入的同时,会自动写入另外一个或多个副本到集群中的其它节点。当单个节点故障时,会自动从其它节点复制数据实现数据重建。亨通集团IT经理顾雪明在应用上线前通过带电热拔插硬盘,亲手检验过Nutanix的数据恢复能力。 

对于分公司经常意外断电的问题,Nutanix 超融合方案也提供了超强的恢复能力。在已经上线的三个分公司,北京分公司和西安西古分公司都遇到过意外断电的情况。以西安西古分公司为例,其发生过机房意外断电故障,UPS(冗余 电源系统)未能成功接管,相当于被直接拔电。但是在这样的意外之后,Nutanix 都顺利重启,仅仅 10 几分钟就自动 实现系统启动。正因为经过现场严苛环境的检验,亨通集团对 Nutanix 超融合方案格外满意。 

利用 Nutanix 虚拟桌面基础架构(VDI)解决方案,避免了传统虚拟桌面架构采用独立存储和服务器的复杂性,实现快速上线。另外 Nutanix 的线性扩展特性,支持桌面应用规模增长,避免效率低下的过度配置。现在分公司运维人员 可以通过 Nutanix Prism 统一管理虚拟桌面基础架构,根据工厂终端需求分配合适的资源。当虚拟桌面出现故障时, 亨通运维人员可以快速重置或重建故障桌面,超融合提供的高性能可以在数分钟内完成故障处理任务,将问题解决的时间缩短 90% 以上。 

部署 Nutanix 超融合解决方案后,我放心多了。原来使用基于单机或者基于独立存储的虚拟化方案,意外断电后不是服务器启不来,就是存储挂掉了。如果存储硬件告 警,还要等原厂或者维保商来修复,耗时很长。 Nutanix 超融合解决方案避免了这些问题,这也是亨通非常看重 Nutanix 的优点之一。

亨通集团 IT 经理 顾雪明

Nutanix 超融合提高集团 IT 治理水平 

Nutanix 超融合在分公司的成功经验,尤其是意外断电后的自动恢复给张征平总监留下了深刻印象。而 Nutanix Prism 对虚拟数据中心的管理能力,让张征平总监意识到可以由此提高整个集团公司的基础设施管控能力,提高 IT 治 理水平。 

2019 年 7 月亨通集团在总部部署了 11 个兼具密度和高性能的 Nutanix NX8035-G6 超融合节点,共占用了半个机柜空间。相比之往的传统架构,现在的超融合方案节省 50% 以上机架空间,电力消耗也减少 40% 以上。在这些节点上, 除了部署 MES 和 VDI 应用,还同时承载了集团 OA,Web 和文档管理等应用。 

亨通集团原来的 IT 设备品牌众多、型号繁杂,不利于管理维护。当信息部人员发生离职或职位变化时,知识和技能很难保证完整传递。在制定了新的集团 IT 战略路线之后,信息部要求负责基础架构的团队必须熟悉 Nutanix 超融合方案和技术。这样知识和技能就能得到积累和提升,运维水平就能得到保证。 

现在张征平总监对基础设施的运维越来越有信心。“ 其实提升 IT 治理水平的过程很痛苦,因为以前是个黑洞。” 原来看不到各个虚拟机的使用情况,很难评估取舍。现在通过 Nutanix Prism 平台,就可以合并或淘汰一些低效率的虚拟机, 将资源释放出来给更重要的应用使用。这样整个 IT 资源的利用率就得到提高。 

借助超融合方案来提升运维水平,顾雪明经理说: “用了 Nutanix 超融合后,现在登录 Prism 统一管理平台,我就能直接监控整个集群的状态,内置的全方位的健康检查和告警信息,让我能够提早知晓并进行潜在问题的处理,保障系统的可用性。” 

展望未来:全面引入超融合 

虽然现有的本地集群已经实现多副本的数据存储,但是随着承载的虚拟机应用越来越多,数据变得更加密集和重要。 万一出现机房故障,影响就会非常严重。亨通也正在考虑采用 Nutanix 超融合进行灾备方案的部署,Nutanix 超融合内置了数据复制和容灾特性,甚至还可以将数据复制到公有云上。没有额外增加成本的情况下就可以实现应用和数据级的复制与灾备,实现对于 IT 核心系统的保护。 

对于集团最为核心的 SAP 系统,张征平总监也做过功课。“ 亨通的 SAP 系统是 2015 年上线的,当前部署在小机系统上, 现在小机的人才越来越稀缺,维护成本也越来越高,出现问题后就非常棘手。Nutanix 超融合系统经过 SAP 官方认证, 我们计划将 SAP 系统迁移到 Nutanix 超融合系统上,以得到更好的成本和运维优势。” 

亨通集团的 IT 战略现在高度依赖 Nutanix 超融合技术。 Nutanix产品和解决方案都非常丰富,我相信通过我们与Nutanix的深入合作,一定能够更好地推动亨通集团的数字化进程。

亨通集团信息部总监 张征平

Customers

Hengtong Group Improves IT Governance and Business Agility with Nutanix 

Hyperconverged solution lets global manufacturer unify management and maximize infrastructure availability for mission-critical operations 

INDUSTRY

Manufacturing

BENEFITS

  • Accelerated deployment of new IT systems from weeks to days saves 80% on-line time 
  • Unifed remote management of multi-service platforms via Prism improves IT governance 
  • Improved reliability of production system enables rapid recovery and ensures business continuity 
  • Scalable hyperconverged solution streamlines configuration and optimizes resource utilization 

SOLUTIONS

  • Nutanix Enterprise Cloud OS 
  • Nutanix AHV
  • Nutanix Prism management software

APPLICATIONS

  • MES production execution system
  • Supply chain applications
  • Financial applications
  • OA platform
  • Document management
  • VDI desktop virtualization architecture

BUSINESS BENEFIT

Hengtong Group is a leading manufacturer of fiber optic networks, power grids, and other solutions for customers worldwide. Its most critical enterprise applications and production processes reside on its infrastructure, and the organization was seeking to improve governance and enhance IT support for its branch and subsidiary locations. The Nutanix hyperconverged infrastructure provides the visibility, performance, and enhanced availability the firm needs to support its most essential applications and manufacturing processes. The flexible, agile solution lets the manufacturer respond to changing needs fast, reducing deployment time of new IT systems from weeks to days. 

Hengtong Group ’s IT strategy is now highly dependent on Nutanix hyperconvergence technology. Nutanix products and solutions are very rich. I believe that through our in-depth cooperation with Nutanix, we will be able to better promote Hengtong Group’s digitization process.

Zhang Zhengping, Director of IT Department, Hengtong Group

CHALLENGE

One of the top 100 private enterprises in China, Hengtong Group has established industrial bases in 13 provinces in China as well as nine countries across the globe. Its business covers more than 130 countries and regions. With annual sales exceeding 100 billion RMB, it is a complete supply chain enterprise from upstream manufacturing to downstream sales and service integration. 

The firm’s infrastructure supports systems such as SAP, CRM, SRM, OA, and HR applications. Manufacturing Execution Systems (MES) power its factory management and planned production scheduling, and aggregate production data to the group’s SAP ERP system in real time. To stay competitive, the company was seeking to improve the reliability of IT support systems distributed around the world, and enhance management and control of its information systems. 

Hengtong’s branches had limited IT resources compared to those at its headquarters. The branches and the group independently account for each IT project, which needs to be purchased separately. New IT initiatives took several months, from the establishment of the project to tendering and implementation. When the company’s Information Department is doing unified IT planning, one of its key considerations is to maintain the current procurement budget, while having the parent company provide IT technology support to the branches, in order to improve their management and maintenance capabilities. 

SOLUTION

After repeated investigation, comparison, and field tests, Zhang Zhengping, Director of IT Department at Hengtong Group, deployed a Nutanix hyperconverged infrastructure solution to the company’s branches. Four-note Nutanix Appliances at three branches in Beijing, Chengdu and Xi’an support critical systems, including the firm’s MES production execution system and desktop virtualization architecture (VDI). 

Scalable and flexible, the Nutanix solution lets Hengtong branch locations to set up new IT systems in just a few days, instead of weeks—a saving of more than 80 percent of its deployment time. For off-site branches with minimal technical resources, the Group Information Department can use Nutanix Prism to centrally manage multiple clusters distributed in different locations. This end-to-end management solution also simplifies and automates operations and maintenance to enable unified management and remote support. 

Nutanix Prism is an end-to-end management solution for virtual data centers. It has one-click management capabilities for operations such as virtual machine creation, start, stop, migration, and system upgrade. It can also provide system performance monitoring, event warning, and capacity planning. The Nutanix solution lets Hengtong to optimize and automate operation and maintenance of the virtual data center.

MES needs to be deployed in the factory to provide real-time data to the production line. The factory’s data center is a harsh environment, and unexpected power outages often occur, as well as other hidden issues. 

Nutanix enables Hengtong to dramatically improve the reliability and stability of its MES system, while keeping procurement costs flat. The solution’s automation improves availability of virtual machines, and the applications that run on them. When a node fails, it can automatically restart virtual machines on other nodes to ensure business continuity. In addition, Nutanix software defines storage characteristics and supports replication factor settings to configure the number of data copies. When data is written locally in a virtual machine, it is automatically written to another one, and can be copied to additional nodes in the cluster. When a single node fails, it will automatically copy data from other nodes to reconstruct the data. Gu Xueming, IT manager of Hengtong Group, personally tested Nutanix’s data recovery capabilities by using the hotswappable hard drive with electricity before the application went live. 

For the frequent accidental power outage of branch companies, the Nutanix hyper-convergence solution also provides superior recovery capabilities. In the three branches that have been launched, Beijing Branch and Xi’an Branch have encountered unexpected power outages. Take Xi’an Branch as an example. An unexpected power failure occurred in the computer room, and the UPS (redundant power system) failed to take over, which is equivalent to being directly unplugged. But after such an accident, Nutanix restarted smoothly, and the system started automatically in only 10 minutes. It is precisely because of the harsh environment on site that Hengtong Group is extremely satisfied with Nutanix’s hyper-convergence solution. 

“After deploying the Nutanix hyperconverged solution, I feel more at ease,” said Gu. “With traditional standalone or independent storage-based virtualization solutions, when the power goes out unexpectedly, the server cannot be turned on or the storage hangs. Hardware issues require a long wait for repairs. The Nutanix hyperconverged solution lets us avoid these problems, providing advantages that we really value.” 

With Nutanix Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI) solution, Hengtong avoids the complexity of traditional virtual desktop architecture with independent storage and servers, and improves its agility. Nutanix’s linear expansion feature supports the growth of desktop applications and avoids inefficient over-configuration. Now branch operation and maintenance personnel can use Nutanix Prism to uniformly manage the virtual desktop infrastructure and allocate appropriate resources according to the needs of the plant terminals. If a virtual desktop fails, Hengtong operation and maintenance personnel can quickly reset or rebuild the failed desktop. The high performance enables the company to complete fault processing tasks within a few minutes, reducing problem resolution time by more than 90 percent. 

CUSTOMER OUTCOME

The successful deployment of Nutanix HCI in the branch, especially its ability to enable automatic recovery after an unexpected power outage, impressed Director Zhang Zhengping. The organization decided to take advantage of Nutanix Prism’s ability to manage virtual data centers and extend the solution to improve the administration, control, and governance across its entire group of companies. 

In July 2019, Hengtong Group deployed 11 Nutanix hyperconverged nodes at its headquarters, occupying half of the cabinet space. Compared with the previous architecture, the solution saves more than 50 percent of rack space and reduces power consumption by more than 40 percent. These highdensity, high-performance nodes support the firm’s MES and VDI applications, as well as its group OA, web and document management applications. 

Hengtong Group’s previous IT environment was a complex mix of devices from multiple vendors, making management and maintenance challenging. If a staff member departed or moved, knowledge transfer was difficult. Today, the IT strategy requires that the team responsible for the infrastructure must be familiar with Nutanix hyperconvergence solutions and technologies. Consolidating operations on a single unified platform makes it easier for the organization to accumulate and build on knowledge and skills, and deliver a consistent level of operation and maintenance. 

As a result, Zhang is much more confident in the operation and maintenance of infrastructure. “Improving IT governance was painful, because it was a black hole before,” he said. “Gaining insight and optimizing virtual machine usage was difficult. Now through the Nutanix Prism platform, we can merge or eliminate inefficient virtual machines and release resources for more important applications. This lets us improve the utilization of all of our IT resources.” 

“With the help of Nutanix HCI, I can now log in to the Prism unified management platform and directly monitor the status of the entire cluster,” Gu Said. “The solution makes it easy to discover and handle potential problems early to ensure system availability.” 

NEXT STEPS

Although existing local clusters have implemented multi-copy data storage, as more and more virtual machine applications are hosted, data becomes denser—and more critical. To safeguard this essential data, Hengtong is considering activating Nutanix’ built-in data replication and disaster tolerance features, which include support for copying data to public clouds. These options will enable the company to achieve application and data-level replication and disaster recovery without additional cost, while protecting the integrity of core IT systems. 

For the core SAP system of the Group, Zhang also did his homework. “Hengtong ’s SAP system was launched in 2015 and is currently deployed on UNIX. Today, talent is scarce to support UNIX, and maintenance costs are growing. We plan to migrate the SAP system to the Nutanix hyperconverged solution to minimize costs and gain operation and maintenance advantages.” 

With traditional standalone or independent storagebased virtualization solutions, when the power goes out unexpectedly, the server cannot be turned on or the storage hangs. Hardware issues require a long wait for repairs. The Nutanix hyperconverged solution lets us avoid these problems, providing advantages that we really value.

Gu Xueming, IT Manager, Hengtong Group